No products in the cart.
Does a 2,200-Pound Smith Machine Rating Apply to Every Attachment?
Cover illustration: AI-generated concept art. It does not show the actual WAXMAN model, a load test, or a safety certification.
Short answer: No—not from the whole-machine number alone. The WAXMAN product listing gives a maximum capacity of 2,200 lb for the whole machine, but the page does not publish separate limits for the Smith bar, cable stations, dip handles, storage pegs, or other attachments. Do not treat 2,200 lb as the rating for each component. For the exact model, WAX-SM-S02, get the manual or written instructions that identify each station’s load limits before choosing a working load.
What the product page actually tells you
The WAXMAN Smith Machine listing describes a multi-station system with a Smith machine, rack, cable crossover and pull-up station. It lists a whole-machine maximum capacity of 2,200 lb, a 50 × 50 mm steel-tube frame, and overall dimensions of 87.2 inches high, 71 inches long and 48 inches wide. It also lists accessories such as J-hooks, spotter arms, dip handles and cable handles.
The page does not assign a capacity to each station or accessory. It also does not explain whether the whole-machine figure includes every stored plate, a user’s body weight, moving loads, or a particular configuration. Those details matter when you are deciding what a number permits. The missing information is not a reason to estimate; it is a reason to check the model-specific documentation.
Why one number should not be copied to every station
A multi-station machine has several distinct parts that move and support loads in different ways. A rating printed for the complete frame does not, by itself, say how much a cable handle, Smith bar, pull-up station or storage peg can carry. Nor does it show that every attachment was tested to the same limit. The product page’s wording is about the whole machine, so keep that scope intact when you describe or use it.
Avoid dividing 2,200 lb by the number of stations or pegs, and avoid treating the figure as a target for a workout. The listing does not provide a formula for either calculation. It also does not state a separately verified rating for the included attachments. If a seller page for another machine or package shows a different number, do not transfer that number to WAX-SM-S02; model names and bundles can be similar while the included configuration differs.
Verify the exact rating before adding weight
- Confirm the model. Check the order record, product label and assembly paperwork for WAX-SM-S02. Keep the product URL and a copy of the listing you purchased.
- Ask for the complete manual. Request the assembly and operating instructions for that model, including load limits for the Smith bar, rack, cable system, pull-up station, attachments and plate storage.
- Ask what each number covers. If the manual has a “maximum capacity” figure, ask whether it applies to one station or the whole structure, and what load the manufacturer includes in that figure. Do not assume the answer from the label alone.
- Check included versus optional parts. Confirm that the instructions cover the attachments in your order. Do not assume a separately sold add-on shares the capacity of the base machine.
- Use the strictest applicable instruction. Follow the manual, labels and any written manufacturer guidance for the exact configuration. If a needed station-specific limit is not provided, leave that station unloaded until the manufacturer clarifies it.
Use this check during a winter home-gym setup
When setting up equipment for indoor training season, keep the model label and instructions where you can find them. Before using a station, make sure it is assembled exactly as instructed and that the relevant safety components and attachments are installed. Do not substitute hardware, add an unapproved attachment, or rely on a retailer’s general “heavy duty” wording as a numeric limit.
Inspect the machine before each use for obvious damage, loose connections, bent parts or components that do not move as the instructions describe. Stop and contact the seller or manufacturer if something looks damaged or if the manual does not answer a capacity question. This article does not identify a safe working load for any station because the public listing does not provide those individual values.
WAXMAN Smith Machine with LAT-Pull and Cable Crossover, model WAX-SM-S02
Listing: 50 × 50 mm steel-tube frame; 87.2 in H × 71 in L × 48 in W; whole-machine maximum capacity listed as 2,200 lb. Separate component limits are not published on the page.
$1,999.90 USD (listed price checked October 15, 2026; same-page compare-at price $2,999.00 USD). Availability is not stated.
Price and availability may change; see the product page.
Bottom line
The published 2,200 lb figure is labeled for the whole machine. It does not establish the limit for every station or accessory. Use the exact model’s instructions or written manufacturer guidance to confirm each relevant rating; do not infer a component limit from the whole-machine number.
Source: WAXMAN product listing (model, overall dimensions, frame material, listed whole-machine capacity, accessories, product image and price; checked October 15, 2026). Separate station limits and test method are not published in the page reviewed. No load test or engineering review is claimed. Written with Codex assistance; not represented as human-reviewed.

Leave a Reply